At the 2019 International Radio-Scientific Union (URSI) Commission B International Symposium on Electromagnetic Theory (EMTS), Satheesh Bojja Venkatakrishnan, research assistant professor, was selected as the recipient of the EMTS 2019 Young Scientist Award. Venkatakrishnan received this award for his paper titled, RF Cancellation of Coupled Transmit Signal and Noise in STAR across 1 GHz Bandwidth.

His research focuses on improving the achievable isolation and suppressing transmit noise in Simultaneous Transmit and Receive (STAR) systems over wide bandwidth. This is required to enable transmission and reception at the same frequency and time. As a result, this could potentially double the spectral efficiency, which is needed for future wireless applications, as currently there is limited spectrum available for commercial applications that are being developed like the Internet of Things and smart device communications.

Venkatakrishnan’s paper will be published in the March 2020 issue of the URSI journal, The Radio Science Bulletin.

Congratulations, Dr. Bojja Venkatakrishnan!